Chattanooga Times Free Press

Zooooommmmbiiiieeeeeesssssssss! I originally typed a period at the end of that, then I sat here for a minute to question why I would do that. Why would I front all the effort to say ‘zombies,’ then finish it off with simple period? Terrible. So I went back and added an exclamation point. Clearly.

There was a mix up with out guest speakers for today, so instead of going back home to sleep, we all stayed in the room and watched Zombieland. It was pretty amazing and hilarious. Not to mention good to have a day not to worry about anything but relax around each other. We all received an email from George Bairaktaris later today to explain the mix up and apologize which I respectfully accept. Shit happens.

For Processes/ Materials today, we visited the Chattanooga Times Free Press.

DSC_0576

I can honestly say I never expected to be so amazed by a newspaper. We’ve been hearing about the evolution of printing presses since we started with design classes as sophomores, but seeing it today made all the difference. The actual press is so enormous as is the process to get everything done. The light sensitive plates that each page is printed on are amazing and they let us keep one to bring back to school.

DSC_0617

The press:

DSC_0644

Oh if only pictures could really do it justice.

And I sorta wish I had just one of their tanks of ink. It took all the strength in my body not to crawl on top of one… open it up… and dip my hands inside. I know that may sound strange, but it’s what I was thinking at the time.

DSC_0660

The end of the tour took us through a time portal and we somehow ended up back in the lobby. I had a great time touring the facility and really seeing all the things we’ve heard about come to life.

Leave a comment